Previous Winners - HW Fisher Best First Biography Prize

Previous winners of the Best First Biography Prize, now known as the Slightly Foxed Best First Biography Prize:

  • 2009 Roland Chambers for The Last Englishman: The Double Life of Arthur Ransome (Faber)
  • 2010 Wendy Moffatt for E.M. Forster: A New Life (Bloomsbury)
  • 2011 Matthew Hollis for Now All Roads Lead to France: The Last Years of Edward Thomas (Faber)
  • 2012 Thomas Penn for Winter King (Penguin)
  • 2013 Charles Moore for Margaret Thatcher: The Authorized Biography Volume One: Not for Turning (Allen Lane)

    ©2011 Biographers' Club. All rights reserved. Designed by Dawn Roberts
    Club founded by Andrew Lownie (President). Committee: Anne de Courcy (Chairman), Sarah Anderson, Philippa Bernard, Nicholas Clee, Caroline Knox, Brenda Maddox, Jane Ridley, David Waller.

    Associate committee members: Jane Mays, Ariane Bankes (Prize Administrator).

    Address for cheques [for events and membership]: 8 Plimsoll Road, London N4 2EW.

    Address for entry fee cheques for the Tony Lothian Prize and HW Fisher Prize: 79 Arlington Avenue, London N1 7BA.


    Company No. 6771370. Registered Charity No. 1128358.